Why You All Up in My Business, Vons??

19 Mar

     LOOK, I get what they are trying to do at Vons with the: “Hello, can I help you find anything” business. Theoretically a great idea. But when you’re bombarded by every single employee within shouting distance asking if you are finding everything ok it becomes a most onerous shopping experience.

     Plus, what are we talking about here? It’s a grocery store. I’m not navigating mine fields. What am I retarded? I am familiar with the situation here people, and am fully capable of locating the items I need all by myself. But hey, if I need your help, I see you over there by the cabbages and I’ll ask you for it. But when I’m in a hurry and just tryin to buy some goddamn Zinfandel and gotta stop and go through the exact same dialogue 4 different times before I even reach wine section you know, it’s a little much.

     So just pump your breaks Vons people and give me some space. I’ve had a long day, I don’t feel like being patronized by your ridiculous inquiries, and trust me I know where you keep the Zin. Thank you.

VONS STRIKES AGAIN!

Dear Vons,
   You guys know that the little prompt pops up first thing asking me if I want to donate a dollar to (enter charity of the week here) and allows me to choose YES or NO right there on the screen. So what’s with then re-asking me aloud whether I’d like to donate a dollar to said charity? You know I already answered on the screen.
   So WTF Vons. Is this a shame tactic?? You wanna make me feel like an a-hole because I don’t always have an extra dollar to spare?? I’m poor damnit! Well I’m not going to let you bring me down. I will not purchase my groceries in shame! Maybe next time I’ll ask the cashier, “Would you like to donate a dollar to me, today?” Or just act like I have some beef with the particular charity: “Hell no. F those guys man!” 

   I mean really, after a while, what do they expect? Just me??

…You’ve gone too far Vons. You’ve gone too far.

9 Responses to “Why You All Up in My Business, Vons??”

  1. jess January 31, 2012 at 5:51 pm #

    I work for the company. Trust me. I can relate from our end. Its no easier for us. There is a mystery program in place and we get docked if we fail to offer all the possible services. You should totally email the vons corporation.

    • J.D. St. Michaels February 8, 2012 at 1:34 pm #

      Thanks for your input. And maybe I will! It’s clearly a store-wide policy, I feel bad for you guys!!

      Best,

      J.D.

  2. Paul Wynn February 14, 2011 at 8:57 am #

    Well that’s what we’re trained to do. Do you honestly think we really care how you’re doing or what you’re looking for? We treat every customer the same. Some people like it some don’t. But I guess I’ll give you credit of acknowledging the workers and not ignoring them. Kudos

    • J.D. St. Michaels February 15, 2011 at 12:27 pm #

      Nice insight Paul. Thanks for sharing. Always good to get feedback :)

  3. limewire info November 23, 2010 at 3:55 am #

    ah

  4. Maryanne October 26, 2010 at 12:22 pm #

    OMG totally!!!

  5. vtalbot July 11, 2010 at 10:44 pm #

    Au contraire! There are mine fields EVERYWHERE! I know. I just think the people at Vons are laying out the mines. . .

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Why You All Up in My Business, Vons?? « Dating, Debating & Recreating: Los Angeles -- Topsy.com - February 15, 2011

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by J.D. St. Michaels, J.D. St. Michaels. J.D. St. Michaels said: Why You All Up in My Business, Vons??: Seriously, if one more person stops me to ask if I need help, I'm gonna lose it!!!http://t.co/kcc2dd6 […]

  2. Random Thoughts & Observations « Dating, Debating & Recreating: Los Angeles - September 25, 2010

    […] also: What’s NOT OK:, Why You All Up in My Business, Vons??, Best Cliche Action Movie Lines, White Fish, Black Fish, Who the F Cares Fish When […]

Love it or hate it? And why??

